MJ Loza


MJ started as CEO at the NZWRC in May 2018. After a year based in California as GM Americas for Accolade Wines, MJ was pleased to return to Marlborough as GM for Putake Honey. Since 2006, MJ has held GM and CEO roles in the wine industry in Marlborough.

Read more

Dr. Matias Kinzurik

Research Programme Manager

As a Research Programme Manager, Matias is responsible for oversight of a number of research projects. These include the Lighter Wines project and Pinot Noir project.

Read more

Will Kerner (MSc)

Research Programme Manager

Will has been involved in the New Zealand wine industry since the late 90s, when his family developed land in the upper Wairau Valley in Marlborough. He oversees a number of research projects, including the Vineyard Eco-systems and pathogens research projects.

Read more

Fraser Broom

Science Strategy Manager

Dr Fraser Broom has joined BRI as Science Strategy Manager. He is excited to be working with BRI. “I am passionate about science that delivers outcomes to New Zealand’s primary industries, and it is exciting to be a part of building a new organisation to benefit New Zealand’s winegrowers.”

Read more

Janette McKibbin

Research Administrator

Janette McKibbin has worked for New Zealand Winegrowers for more than 10 years. She is the Research Administrator for BRI and is based in Auckland. Janette holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Auckland.

Read more

Jacqueline Wood

Assistant Winemaker

Jacqui has recently joined the Bragato Research Institute (BRI) team as Assistant Winemaker, working in our new research winery (in the NMIT teaching winery) alongside the BRI team and Claire Grose from Plant and Food Research (PFR).

Read more

Dr. Fang Gou

Data Co-ordinator

Dr Fang Gou joined the BRI team in Blenheim as Data Co-ordinator. Fang started her studies at China Agricultural University in Beijing, receiving her BSc majoring in agro-meteorology, and her MSc in simulation and modelling intercropping systems.

Read more

Dr Darrell Lizamore

Principal Research Scientist – Grapevine Improvement

Darrell joined the BRI team in August 2019. In his role Darrell aims to build an integrated national programme bringing together capability in this area across different organisations as well as building a team and internal capability at BRI focussing on grapevine improvement.

Read more

Len Ibbotson

Viticultural Extension and Research Manager

Len joined the BRI team in August 2019. The focus of his role is to lead the communication of research information to members, to ensure information and tools delivered by research programmes are being adopted and applied to deliver member and industry benefits. The role will also provide expert viticultural input and practical insights into BRI’s research projects.

Read more

Michelle Barry

Technical Communications Specialist

Michelle joined the BRI team in September 2019. Her background in environmental science and soil science provides her with a unique perspective on winegrowing, as well as research and technical writing skills.

Read more

Dr. Tanya Rutan

Research Winery Manager

Tanya Rutan started as the Research Winery Manager in January 2020. Originally from the USA, she has a MSc in Wine Chemistry from the University of Auckland and completed a PhD in Wine Science working in collaboration with industry on identifying the primary aromatic compounds and phenolic composition of Central Otago Pinot noir wines.

Read more

Augusta van Wijk

Business Development Manager

Having worked as Busisness Development Manager at the Cawthron Institute since 2003 Augusta brings over 15 years’ experience in client relationship and stakeholder management in the science and research sector to BRI.

Read more

Mark Gilbert

Independent Chair – BRI

Mark retired as Managing Director of BMW Group New Zealand in 2012.
He has nearly 30 year’s automotive industry and management experience, working in both New Zealand and Asia for international company’s Volvo, and the BMW Group; where he held a number of senior executive roles.

Read more

Peter Holley

Peter has been involved with the New Zealand wine industry since he and his family immigrated in 1996. Since then he has held the position of CEO at Mission Estate and has been fortunate to work alongside a team of dedicated professionals in the restructuring and recapitalisation of the business.

Read more

Simon Towns

Simon has served on the NZ Winegrowers board since October 2016, and joined the BRI Board as an NZ Winegrowers representative.

Read more

Dr Dianne McCarthy


Dr McCarthy holds a BA BSc MSc (Hons) and PhD from the University of Auckland. The former CEO of the Royal Society of New Zealand, among other roles, she is now the Chair of the Board of the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research and a Director of the Cawthron Institute.

Read more

Dr Bruce Campbell

Dr Campbell has a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in ecology from The University of Sheffield. He is a recipient of the 2017 Prime Minister's Science Prize, 2017 Horticulture New Zealand Industry Service Award and 2016 Royal Society of New Zealand Thomson Medal for outstanding leadership of agricultural and horticultural science.

Read more

Research Advisory Committee


Our Research Advisory Committee, appointed by New Zealand Winegrowers and comprised of industry experts, assesses research proposals and guides our research priorities. Grower and winery members with technical or scientific expertise are encouraged to put their names forward for consideration when expressions of interest open each year.

Current Members

Patrick Materman (Chair)

Allan Johnson

Bart Arnst

Doug Bell

Heath Stafford

Jeff Sinnott

Jonathan Hamlett

Marilyn Duxson

Melissa Tripe

Wendy Stuckey